System and organisation of studies

The Faculty of Science provides higher education in the fields of Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Environmental Protection.

The education process is split into three stages – three-year Bachelor’s, two-year Master’s and four-year Doctoral programmes. These programmes are primarily aimed at the education of prospective researchers and expert practitioners. One of the traditional types of study is science teacher training, which focuses on the education of prospective secondary school teachers.

The Faculty of Science also runs the STARS programme, which focuses on the recruitment of gifted doctoral students from abroad. Students can apply for research topics which have been recommended by top research teams and approved by the Scientific Council of the Faculty.